What are you looking for?

Sesión de clausura

>>Sesión de clausura
Thursday 19th November


President of the Spanish Nuclear Society (SNE). Doctor of Industrial Engineering from the Polytechnic University of Madrid (UPM). During the early years of his career, he was a researcher at the Nuclear Energy Board (now CIEMAT). In 1982, he joined the Higher Technical School of Industrial Engineers (ETSII) at UPM, where he has been a professor of Nuclear Technology, director, and currently holds the position of professor emeritus. At UPM, he has served as Vice-rector for faculty and Vice-rector for postgraduate and doctoral studies. He has also been the president of the Foundation for the Promotion of Industrial Innovation (FFII). For two years, he was the president of the European Nuclear Society (ENS) and the Spanish representative on the Scientific Technical Committee of Euratom. Currently, he is the rector of the University of the Caribbean (UNICARIBE) in the Dominican Republic, president of the Association of Industrial Engineers of Madrid (AIIM), and president of the Spanish Nuclear Society (SNE).

Industrial Engineer, specializing in Mechanics, from the Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingenieros Industriales de Madrid. Since 1986, he has been a member of the State Industrial Engineers Corps. Professional experience Since 1987 he has worked in the Subdirectorate General of Nuclear Energy, in the positions of Head of the Radioactive Installations Service, Technical Advisor, Head of the Fuel Cycle Area and Deputy Subdirector General of Nuclear Energy. He is currently the Spanish representative on the Steering Committee of the Nuclear Energy Agency of the OECD (NEA-OECD), having been a member of the Committee for technical and economic studies on nuclear fuel and fuel cycle development of this agency.

His professional career was developed at the CSN between 1984 and 2012, the year in which he joined the IAEA, an organization of which he was appointed Deputy Director General in 2015. He returned to the CSN in 2021, where he served as technical director of Nuclear Safety (from 2003 to 2012 he had already been director of Radiation Protection). He has been president of the CSN since April 2022.

CLossing session

President of the Region of Murcia